NaNo was a NoNo

So last year, I attempted NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month held every November. 30 days, 50,000 words.

Writing journal

And the weight of ‘attempted’ is heavy. I managed to write about 16,000 useful words, 2,000 words in random paragrah form, and another 1,000 letters of baby garble.

Still, I consider this a great accomplishment. How many people can say they’ve sat down in front of their laptop, not to browse the wormhole that is the internet – but instead, to write?

And a novel, no less.

Some would-be novelists even finish! Imagine.

Despite my failure to reach the 50,000 word goal, I’ve continued to tweak my novel titled Beautiful Mistakes whenever I get a burst of creative energy.

Sidenote – can I purchase a burst of creative energy somewhere?

So in effort to get back into author mode, I’ve decided to introduce the blog world to my novel.

The overall premise of the story revolves around a newlywed couple in 1901, living in the fictious New England town of Gilberbrooks.

In short, Reiland loves his wife, Lucy, and in most ways he considers himself unworthy of her. So, to show his appreciation, he declares that he will capture her beauty in a painting.

Simple enough, right?

Of course not.

Reiland completes the painting. But it doesn’t please him. He paints again. And again, and again. And before you know it, He’s obsessed.

(Quite the catch, isn’t he?)

Lucy, the loving young wife that she is, recognizes her husband’s… insanity (he’s insane, I’ve decided). She seeks the help of a local psychiatrist – new to the area and preaching this brain medicine called “Psychoanalyst.”

All and all, I’d like to think with the right editing and feedback (maybe?) I can turn this twisted love story into something worth reading.

I’ll be posting bits of it over the coming weeks. If you like it, fine. If you don’t, that’s ok too.

-Ariana.

One Reply to “NaNo was a NoNo”

  1. Thanks for the mention. I think NaNoWriMo is tough because we’re not writing under the best conditions, really. Even though I got through it, most of what I wrote will be useless because the story was so random and disconnected. Ultimately, I have pretty much what you have–a premise, an idea of what the story is about.

    Your story idea sounds intriguing. I live in New England (NH to be exact), so of course my ears and eyes perked up when I read that part. 🙂

Leave a Reply

